Year in Review

2016: The Year in Review

Highlights of the significant events at Stanford University in 2016:


  • Stanford senior Kara Fong wins Churchill Scholarship and Stanford students Alina Luk and Jordan Shapiro are named 2016 Schwarzman Scholars


  • Marc Tessier-Lavigne is named Stanford's 11th president
  • The Knight-Hennessy Scholars Program is launched
  • Maheetha Bharadwaj is awarded a Gates Cambridge Scholarship
  • Stanford 125 symposium celebrates founders


  • Stanford cyber-security innovators Whitfield Diffie and Martin Hellman win the ACM 2015 A.M. Turing Award
  • Board of Trustees approves plans for the new Stanford in Redwood City campus
  • Synchronized Swimming team wins NCAA championship
  • Hillary Clinton visits campus and says global alliances key to ending terrorism
  • Condoleezza Rice and Michael McFaul talk with students about diplomacy and foreign policy


  • Seven Stanford students awarded 2016 Soros Fellowships for New Americans
  • Stanford Health Care names David Entwistle president and CEO
  • Six Stanford professors elected to the American Academy of Arts and Sciences
  • Five Stanford students named 2016 Yenching Scholars
  • The Board of Trustees issues a statement marking Stanford's progress in combating global climate change
  • Grand opening of the David Rumsey Map Center at Green Library
  • Stanford Perimeter Trail is finished


  • Nine Stanford faculty members elected to National Academy of Sciences
  • Stanford faculty launch a new Humanities Core
  • Bradford Parkinson wins Marconi Prize
  • Jonathan Levin named dean of Stanford Graduate School of Business
  • Stanford women’s tennis captures NCAA championship


  • Carla Shatz and Calvin Quate win Kavli Prizes
  • 21 Stanford students and alumni receive Fulbright scholarships
  • Chris Field named director of the Stanford Woods Institute for the Environment
  • Ken Burns speaks at Stanford's 125th Commencement and the Most Rev. Dr. Katharine Jefferts Schori delivers
  • the Baccalaureate address
  • Speaking at the Global Entrepreneurship Summit, John Kerry calls for entrepreneurs to tackle world challenges
  • President Barack Obama visits Stanford for Global Entrepreneurship Summit
  • John Hennessy reflects on accomplishments of his tenure as Stanford's 10th president


  • Board of Trustees elects Henry A. Fernandez to a five-year term
  • Women's lightweight rowing team wins its second consecutive national title


  • Lori Jakiela and T. Geronimo Johnson win Stanford’s 2016 Saroyan Prize for Writing
  • Cantor Arts Center reveals its major re-envisioning project


  • Marc Tessier-Lavigne takes office as Stanford's 11th president
  • Stanford Center for Professional Development  joins the Office of the Vice President for Teaching and Learning  to extend educational opportunities at Stanford and beyond
  • Abraham Verghese receives National Humanities Medal
  • Two new undergraduate residences open in Lagunita Court
  • Manu Prakash wins prestigious MacArthur grant


  • Stanford celebrates its 125th anniversary
  • Roble Gym reopens after renovation
  • Five faculty members elected to National Academy of Medicine
  • Inauguration of President Marc Tessier-Lavigne
  • Stanford biochemist Peter Kim leads the Chan Zuckerberg Biohub project on infectious disease
  • Nobel Prize winner, Bengt Holmstrom, is Stanford alum
  • Seven researchers receive NIH grants for "high-risk" work


  • Persis Drell named Stanford provost
  • James A. Fox honored with 2016 Richard W. Lyman Award
  • Lisa Lapin appointed vice president for university communications at Stanford
  • Senior Meghan Shea awarded 2017 Rhodes Scholarship; Nadav Lidor, ’16 awarded 2017 Rhodes Scholarship
  • Stanford submits application for updated long-term land use permit
  • Three faculty members are elected fellows of the American Association for the Advancement of Science
  • Jon Mulholland wins the 2016 Marsh O’Neill Award


  • Cardinal men's soccer team wins the national NCAA championship
  • Alina Utrata wins 2017 Marshall Scholarship for graduate study
  • The Stanford Solar Generating Station opens in Kern County, Calif.
  • Stanford senior Clayton Garner and alumna Kimberly Diane Chang named 2017 Schwarzman Scholars
  • Roeland Nusse wins $3 million Breakthrough Prize
  • Yuliy Sannikov honored with the John Bates Clark Medal
  • The women's volleyball team wins the NCAA national championship